Skip to main content

See the latest news from Screenwest and the WA Screen Industry here.


Set in the colourful Australian coastal town of Albany, H IS FOR HAPPINESS is a classic feel-good film for all ages that will make you laugh, cry, and cheer with delight. Based on the award-winning book My Life as an Alphabet by Barry Jonsberg, it is the genuinely heart-warming and unflinchingly honest story of one twelve-year-old’s determination to bring her family back from the brink and spark happiness in their lives. Using an entirely unique approach, Candice Phee is an unforgettable heroine whose exploits will inspire and delight anyone who has faced the trials of adolescence and the heartbreak of family tragedy.

Starring newcomers Daisy Axon and Wesley Patton alongside Miriam Margolyes, Richard Roxburgh, Emma Booth, Joel Jackson, Deb Mailman and a miniature horse, H IS FOR HAPPINESS shows us a quintessentially Australian world through the eyes of a quirky outsider, and is a joyous celebration of all things a little bit different.

Filmed and Post Produced in Western Australia

on the Traditional Country of the Menang Noongar peoples

Watch the trailer

Production Information


John Sheedy


Lisa Hoppe


Julie Ryan

Tenille Kennedy

Lisa Hoppe

Executive Producers

Richard East

Jonathan Page

Bryce Menzies

Avrill Stark

Grady Habib

Roger Savage

Key Cast

Richard Roxborough
Emma Booth
Joel Jackson
Deborah Mailman
Daisy Axon
Wesley Patten
Miriam Margolyes


Universal Pictures (ANZ)


LevelK (INT)

Key Locations



Bonnie Elliott ACS


Johanna Scott

Sound Editor

Chris Goodes CAS


Nerida Tyson-Chew

© Copyright 2024 Screenwest (Australia) Ltd Back to top

Acknowledgement of Country

Screenwest acknowledges and pays respect to all Traditional Owners of Country across the State of Western Australia and their Elders, past, present and emerging. We recognise and respect their cultural heritage, spiritual beliefs and relationship to land and waters and acknowledge that they are of continuing importance to the people living today. We extend this respect to all Indigenous language groups.