Blog single page

It’s an exciting year for West Australian directors Ben Young, Pete Gleeson and Arnie Custo who have each received nominations for the ADG Awards being held Friday, 5 May in Melbourne.
Ben Young has been nominated for Best Direction in a Feature Film for his work on HOUNDS OF LOVE, placing him amongst Garth Davis for LION, Craig Boreham for TEENAGE KICKS, Jonathan Leahy for SKIN DEEP and Simon Stone for THE DAUGHTER.

HOUNDS OF LOVE has gripped audiences around the international festival circuit, with Young winning Best Director at Brussels International Film Festival in 2016. It will be in selected Australian cinemas 1 June.

Pete Gleeson has been nominated for Best Direction in a Documentary Feature Film on HOTEL COOLGARDIE. He is contending with Aaron Peterson for ZACH’S CEREMONY, Amanda Blue for DEEP WATER: THE REAL STORY, Dan Jackson for IN THE SHADOW OF THE HILL and Gillian Leahy for BAXTER AND ME.

HOTEL COOLGARDIE had its world premiere in International Competition at Hot Docs. It then went on to screen at several highly regarded film festivals including Sydney Film Festival (Australian premiere), CinefestOZ, American Documentary Film Festival in Palm Springs and Slamdance in Utah. The film will be released in selected Australian cinemas from June 15.

Arnie Custo has been nominated for Best Direction in a TV or SVOD Drama Serial for HOME AND AWAY Episode 6486, and is up against HOME AND AWAY directors Danny Raco (Ep 6395) and Geoffrey Nottage (Ep 6417) and Gary Conway for NEIGHBOURS Block 1458 (Ep 7509).

The ADG Awards are the only opportunity for Australian directors and their work to be acknowledged by their directing peers. The Awards recognise excellence in the craft
and art of directing, as well as acknowledging individual contributions by Australian Screen Directors to film, television, documentary, animation and interactive media.

A valid ADG membership is required to enter this competition.

View a full list of nominees here.

Screenwest is proud to be supporting the awards in 2017